News (text header)

Secretary Abraham to receive Bradley Foundation Award

Washington Examiner

Aspiring lawyers who believe the judiciary should say what the law is, not what it should be, are in a stronger position today to challenge the liberal orthodoxy that prevails in most law schools thanks to The Federalist Society. The key individuals who helped found the organization and turn into a national institution have been named as Bradley Prize winners.

The Federalist Society was founded in 1982 by the Honorable Spencer Abraham, Professor Steven G. Calabresi, the Honorable David McIntosh and the Honorable Lee Liberman Otis while they were law students. Under the leadership of President Eugene B. Meyer and Executive Vice President Leonard Leo, the Society has established active lawyer chapters in 70 cities and student chapters at over 200 ABA credited law schools.

“The Bradley Foundation selected the founders and leaders of the Federalist Society for their ingenuity in forming and nurturing an organization dedicated to preserving rule of law,” said Michael W. Grebe, president and chief executive officer of the Bradley Foundation.  “The Federalist Society has become a vital resource in American legal education.”

“Through the Bradley Prizes, we recognize individuals like the founders and leaders of the Federalist Society who have made outstanding contributions, in hopes that others will strive for excellence in their respective fields,” he continued.

Since 1985, the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation has worked to strengthen American democratic capitalism and the institutions, principles and values that make it possible. The Foundation also  recognizes that responsible self government depends on an enlightened citizenry and informed public opinion. To this end, it has been a consistent supporter of scholarly studies and academic achievement.

The award will be presented to the Federalist Society during a ceremony to be held at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. on Wednesday, June 3.