News (text header)

Spencer Abraham Receives Prestigious United States Energy Award


2007 to Spencer Abraham, Former Secretary of Energy of the United States. Now in its 18th year, the United States Energy Award is presented annually to recognize pre-eminent energy leadership.

Abraham served as the tenth United States Secretary of Energy from January 2001 to January 2005 after being nominated by President-elect George W. Bush. He now serves as Chairman and CEO of The Abraham Group, an international strategic consulting firm based in Washington, DC.

Prior to being named Secretary of Energy, Abraham served as U.S. Senator for the State of Michigan for six years, where he authored 22 pieces of legislation signed into law. He also chaired two subcommittees: Manufacturing and Competitiveness, and Immigration. Abraham is also Non-Executive Chairman of AREVA, Inc. and a member of the Board of Directors of Occidental Petroleum. In addition, he is a Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Hoover Institute, a FOX News analyst and a periodic contributor of op-ed articles to the Financial Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Weekly Standard and other publications.